I haven’t watched the national news since the night of the election. I just can’t bring myself to do it. It has been over two weeks since that orange man won and I still can’t believe it. I worry for the LGBT community. I worry for people with disabilities, people in poverty, people depending on SSI and for the elderly depending on social security. I don’t know what is wrong with this country and the people who think they are better than everyone else or think they can look down on people. I am tired. I am just plain tired. I think about my dad everyday, but I can’t bring myself to call him or even reach out to him. I have thought about writing him a letter, but I still don’t think he will understand. He sees me as a second class citizen because I am gay. He doesn’t think I am entitled to the benefits of living in America…the right to marry being the one that bothers me the most. I hope I can watch the news again and just fast forward through the depressing stuff. I hope I can want to stay informed so that orange man doesn’t ruin things. I just don’t want to be tired anymore. At least I am not crying anymore.

Leave a Reply

