Sylvia had to drive me to the ER again yesterday morning. My abdominal pain was unbearable again. I suffered through the weekend hoping I could make it to Monday morning to call the gynecologist and get in. I woke up at 2:00 on Monday morning to extreme pain. We decided to wait, because it subsided. Well, then I woke up around 4:30 and the pain was still in my abdomen but had also moved to my chest. We arrived to a pretty empty ER and I got right back to a room. This time they thought it might really be my gall bladder. They did X-rays, an ultrasound, blood work and an EKG. Everything was NORMAL. I got morphine for the pain, which did help UGH. So the doctor then came in to explain that it could be a stomach ulcer, but he did it very quickly. I rang the bell and asked for him to come back.

Sylvia and I listened intently and finally understood. All of the ibuprofin I had been taking for what I thought were cramps, could have agitated a stomach ulcer. I now have an appointment for Thursday afternoon to see an UPPER GI doctor. The ER doctor sent me home with a different pain medication and something for my stomach. Sylvia and I have talked and we theorize, that the original cramps may have been cramps from my period. I took ibuprofin and other meds. The cramps did go away, but when the cramps and stomach pain came back I thought it was the same thing but this time it may have been the ulcer that had been agitated by the meds I had taken for the cramps. I stayed home today, just because I am still tired. I am eating BLAND food and avoiding Orange Juice and anything else that may affect my stomach. So far, I haven’t had to take any pain medication since 9:30 last night. I had planned to go to work, but got really tired after getting up this morning so I decided to stay home one more day.

Hoping to get some answers on Thursday! ON a side note, no questions asked at the hospital about Sylvia being my wife. She signed some papers for me so I could rest. It was nice to see that no one questioned us on our marriage.

Leave a Reply

