I will turn 50 next year and Sylvia is already 50. We are both having some pre-menopause symptoms like skipping periods and such. I have even had cramps a few times, but nothing too bad until now. I started having cramps earlier in the week and so I took ibuprofen and slept with a heating pad. I wasn’t sleeping well and was tired during the day and having cramps during the day as well. I woke up Friday morning at 3:00 am with horrible cramps. I lay in bed ready to cry so I decided right then I was taking a day off and going to the doctor. 

Sylvia was very understanding as she has suffered from cramps as well. I went to the doctor and he gave me a prescription for a pain medication with a few samples to start me off. The medication helped and I slept a bit better last night. I finally got the prescription today. It has helped but if I don’t take it soon enough the cramps overwhelm me and then I take a pill and it takes 20-30 minutes to kick in. Sylvia came back and laid down with me as I lay in bed with the heating pad. 

I just took a hot bath and I am hoping I can crash here in a bit. If these cramps continue then I am going to call my gynecologist and get in to see her to see if there are some other options. 

It sucks getting older, but it beats the alternative. 

Leave a Reply

