I cannot believe that tomorrow is New Year’s Eve. This year has gone by so quickly and so much has happened. I graduated this month with my Master’s in Special Education. Sylvia and I celebrated our 5th year together. Jack started his last year of college and will graduate in May and Ethan started high school this past Fall. Sylvia and I have really enjoyed our time off the last few days. I have been off of work since Dec. 18th and go back to work on January 4th. She has been working, but has not had as many students with people canceling to go out of town. We have slept in to 7:30 most mornings and even to 8:00 on a few others. We have both been a little bored with not as much to do, but we have enjoyed the boredom. We have gone on walks together and gone shopping! I have gone to two movies by myself and took the boys to see the new Star Wars movie.

Tomorrow night we are going to a friend’s party for New Year’s Eve. Jack and his girlfriend are going to babysit Ethan. They will even have to play a few Wii games with him. Sylvia and I will go out to eat before we go to the party. Tomorrow during the day we both are going to make candy to take to the party. The boys are going to help me take down the Christmas decorations. We may even do a little work outside–the gutters need cleaning! It is nice to have the time to do a few of these things. Jack returns to school on January 10th so I have to get some work out of him before he leaves!!

I am looking forward to 2016! I am hoping Sylvia and I will set a firm date to get married. She told me to choose the date and she will be there! I think we need to plan it together. We plan on going to a justice of the peace, but we need to plan a bit since there is a three day waiting period after you get your marriage license. I want the boys to be there. I am not sure if we will invite others in our family or just keep it simple. I also hope to lose some weight. I want to walk more (I have a Garmin that I wear to count my steps) and start counting my calories. Sweets are my downfall.

What are your plans for 2016? I am sure there will be other surprises that await me next year and I look forward to them….I think!

Leave a Reply

