I stood up to my dad tonight on Facebook, or rather to one of his posts. I am not a political person, but this Trump’s last comment about Muslims being barred from entering the country has really bothered me. I put a link on my Facebook page that Tom Brokaw did about “being down this road before”. The news article can be found here http://www.nbcnews.com/nightly-news/video/tom-brokaw-reflects-on-trump-s–dangerous-proposal–to-ban-muslims-582434371851 I am not good at putting links into my posts, but you can copy and paste it. Basically the U.S. once interred Japanese Americans during World War II, Hitler killed Jews during this same time period, we had McCarthy in the 1950s and discrimination against African Americans. All of these things did not end well for those persecuting a group of people.

My father has been posting his hate of Obama and his support of Trump for the last few weeks. I have ignored it until now. His last post had picture of Trump and the statement “I may not be politically correct, but I am patriotically correct”. I commented, “No he is not” to which my dad replied “Not worth discussing” and then “Enough said”. I think that was his way of saying I don’t want to argue, but you know if you are going to support something, then stand by it. If you can’t, then you know it is wrong. Where does Trump stop…..will it be Catholics now, homosexuals, and so on. I unfriended my dad on Facebook. I sent him an email telling him that I unfriended him and why. I also told him that I love him, but that I don’t know if I can be around him. I also told him that I am hurt to know that my father has so much hatred in his heart.

I don’t know why this bothers me so much. The father I remember was not this man. He was not perfect, but he was not full of hate. He actually told Sylvia at Jack’s last birthday party that we should kill all the Muslims. She has not wanted to be around him since and I have not asked her to be. I don’t know if I will see him at Christmas. I have the right to take care of myself.

Leave a Reply

