My sister is in town and texted me and my brother today about a gift for mom. She said that mom’s dryer is not working properly but she hadn’t told anyone because she didn’t want to bother us. My sister thought it might be a good idea for all of us to chip in and buy her a new dryer for Christmas. Of course, we all said yet. None of us ever know what to get her. She has a lot and we hate to just buy something to buy something, unless we know she needs it or wants it. My sister and my brother’s wife were going off shopping today and said they would stop at an appliance outlet (major store, but don’t want to name it) and look at the dryers. I even told my sister if they found a washer at a good deal to get both a dryer and a washer. I told her that Sylvia and I would put in $200 but to keep me posted. Now remember, she volunteered to take care of this!

I touch base with them later and they are still at another store shopping for the kids. They finally call me and said they could not find the store and were headed back to my mom’s house. My sister-in-law then says that my mom doesn’t like for her to be too far away when she leaves the kids with her. Ok, my mom lives in a small town about 45 minutes from us. The town where the outlet is, is about half way between the town we (brother and family) live in and my mom. Now they say that maybe I can meet my mom and go shopping for a dyer (yes, we told her what we were going to do, the thing has to be delivered). The tricky part is, I trust my sister to send me the money. I trust my brother too, but I will have to BUG him for the money and I hate bugging family for money. They get defensive and accuse you of not trusting them. Now, I can spare $200 for this gift for my mom, but I can’t cover someone else’s $200 (we may not have to spend that much, it just depends on what we get).

We had looked at prices for Black Friday and really the outlet had the best prices. I am just irritated, because I have some plans tomorrow, that can be rearranged, but WHY OFFER to do something then not do it. Putting money in for a gift is a commitment and can cause issues with family. I just texted my sister, brother and sister-in-law and told them we can meet mom tomorrow, but I need someone with me (my sister leaves tomorrow, so not her) to make sure I know how much we can spend and handle the money situation. I want to do this for my mother, but it shouldn’t have to be a hassle.

Leave a Reply

