Before I met Sylvia I helped my ex-husband by co-signing for a car. He didn’t have bad credit at the time, he just didn’t have much credit, because a lot of things were in my name. It was a catch-22. He needed a car to get to work and I needed him to work so he could pay child support. He had totaled the car he had when we divorce and had been driving a clunker that was always breaking down. It has been almost 5 years since I cosigned and 4 years since it was repossessed. I was naïve and still sort of cared for him, and I was worried about him having a job. I knew better than to co-sign, but at that moment I didn’t think straight. I am now paying the price when trying to get a new car. I got the new car, but with a higher percentage rate than I would like. I kick myself every time I think about it. Thankfully, Sylvia doesn’t give me a hard time about it. She tells me not to beat myself up about it and to let it go. I have a problem letting things go. I say all this to let you all know DO NOT COSIGN a loan for anyone, unless it is your spouse and only IF you feel good about it. You know your finances and if your family can afford it. DON’T let anyone manipulate you and make you feel guilty. I knew better, but I freaked out….I should have thought it out more and I should have asked my MOTHER! I’ll have to wait until sometime in 2018 to get my credit report clear and clean!

2 thoughts on “Never Cosign

  1. I hate to say this, but –

    There’s an old saying in the banking business that the definition of a cosigner is “a fool with a ball-point pen”. (In the old, old days, it was, “a fool with a fountain pen”.)

    Sorry …

Leave a Reply

