My dad usually calls me for any summer type of holiday and invites the family over to swim. Sometimes we go, sometimes we don’t. It just depends on what we are doing, but I always get the phone call. This year I didn’t get the phone call. I haven’t spoken to my dad since the Supreme Court decided their ruling on same-sex marriage. Am I reading too much into this? I don’t know. My former mother-in-law (ex-husband’s mother) texted me and congratulated me on the Supreme Court decision. My mom was with me out of state and was quite excited. She even said she had a ring I could use when I ask Sylvia to marry me, or when Sylvia asks me!! My grandmother was quite excited as well.

My dad posts three not so nice posts on Facebook that I blogged about a few days ago. I wrote my opinion back to him and then silence between us. I have never believed in just cutting a family member out of your life, but at this point, I won’t be the first one to make the move. It shouldn’t always have to be me. If he truly is Christian then he can make the first move. Am I being childish? Possibly. I feel like this is something I have to do for myself and for Sylvia. She won’t even go to his house anymore. The last time he was here for Ethan’s birthday back in April, he had a conversation with Sylvia. Now she is from Germany and grew up listening to the Holocaust stories. She knows how bad it was and how it has been something that all Germans have to deal with and hear about. My dad actually said to her that we should kill all the Muslims….all of them, even children. She told me this after he left. Now, he shouldn’t be saying that to anyone, but especially to someone who has had the guilt of the Holocaust put upon her since she can remember. I was flabbergasted that he would do that. I don’t know what has happened to him. I don’t know much about the Bible, but I do know. “let he without sin cast the first stone” (or something close to that) and he has sinned. He goes to church every Sunday and chastises me for not going when he gets a chance. He doesn’t live a Christian life when he speaks with words of hate. I cannot tolerate it anymore. I won’t be this “kid” at the age of 48 who doesn’t stand up to her own father. He is wrong and his is SO wrong and he can’t even see it. For now, I am just not going to talk to him. It will come to a head sooner or later and it may not be pretty.

Leave a Reply

