I completed the week of inservice in my district on Aug. 22nd! I then had one last weekend before my first year teaching elementary school started and grad school started. Sylvia was still out of town, so I didn’t do a whole lot. I spent a lot of time preparing lessons. I have five students in my special education class and they all float in and out all day. I also see three other students for about an hour in the afternoon. I have to say, I am LOVING elementary school. I have an awesome principal, some great paraprofessionals in my classroom, and some great teachers I work with. I also have a smart board in my room, that I use EVERYDAY! The kids and I are working all day LONG and the days are FAST! Our favorite thing to do is to take a quick 1-2 min dance break and dance to the song “Happy” from Despicable Me 2. I brought home a lot of work the first week, but things are finally falling into place, and I am finding a rhythm.

Graduate school started that same week, and thankfully both of my classes only required an introduction on a message board as the first weeks assignment. Oh, I needed that! I did get all of my assignments that were due this weekend done by last Wednesday! I am now busily working on next week’s assignments. I like both classes, but I am only JUST NOW getting my head wrapped on which book goes with which class. The classes are similar, so it was very confusing in the beginning.

Sylvia came home on the 27th and we were happy to see HER. I was VERY happy to see her. She brought me some chocolate and a few other things from her trip. She has been awesome in supporting me in my grad school work as well as in my work in the elementary school. I could not do it without her.

I hope all of y’all are doing well, and remember to stop and dance sometimes! I know my students and I will continue to dance!

Leave a Reply

