wish me away

I have Netflix and there are times when I search for movies and documentaries on gays and lesbians. I came across a documentary titled Chely Wright: Wish Me Away and watched it today. I found it to be very well done and a very good story to watch. I had never heard of Chely Wright before and I really liked her music! Here is a synopsis of her story:

This poignant documentary, filmed over three years, profiles country music star Chely Wright, a devout Christian whose struggle to succeed in the music biz while hiding her homosexuality from her conservative family and fans caused her much anguish.

As I watched it, I found that I had felt much of what she had, although I had not struggled with it for as long as she had. I don’t want to spoil it by saying too much, but if you can please watch it. I think you take a lot from it. It makes me want to be OUT there more as a lesbian and not hide!

C Wright

Leave a Reply

