It  has been busy since Thanksgiving, so I have not had a chance to write about Jack and what he was thankful for. We had a great time at my mom’s house and a great dinner. As we sat around the table, my mom asked each person to say what they were thankful for. It finally came around to being Jack’s turn and he said, “I am thankful for my two mom’s and my family!” I was amazed to say the least. Jack has called Sylvia his step-mom before with me and with her, but not to anyone else. Here he was telling our family that he considers Sylvia to be one of his mom’s. Sylvia and I were very touched by this. I am so proud of him.

I remembered to write about this because of a conversation we had today. I picked him up early from school for a orthodontic appointment and we were talking about a project he has at school. We decided we would stop by the Home Depot store to get his materials on the way home. He asked if some of his friends could come over to help since it was a group project. I told him that was fine, but the weekend would be better. He said that was good and I mentioned some errands I had to run and I would take his brother with me. I told him Sylvia might be home. He said, “It is OK if she is home. I told my friends that you are a lesbian.” Once again, I was shocked. He then told me that one of his friends has two moms too. He said it was no big deal. I told him that when I was his age, I didn’t even know what a lesbian was or that I was one! He said, “Mom, this is a different generation.” I am so hoping it is and that we have more tolerance in the world. He told me after we got home that he would never let anyone come between us and that he wouldn’t accept someone into his life that didn’t accept me.

I wonder daily where this wonderful kid came from. As a parent, you always hope you are raising your kid right and then these moments happen and you know you have!

2 thoughts on “Two Moms!

  1. Wow! That is amazing. He is a great kid and, in my opinion, he is the way he is because of you and your partner. Both of you must have done a great job raising him and also he probably has a beautiful big heart. I was raised by my aunt mostly, and until today I am so grateful for having her in my life. I believe with all my heart that a child will be safe and loved with a person or persons that truly care for him/her regardless of their gender, sexuality, education, etc. Great kid:)

  2. Thanks so much! I was married to Jack’s father for 17 years and then we divorced. I have been with Sylvia for the last 2 years. She makes me so happy and I think that flows over to the kids. She is SO awesome with both boys and Jack really goes to her for advice or help when he needs it. She never pushed herself on them and I think that has helped too. She is great with Ethan, who has special needs, and she has taken on a lot of responsibility with him. I think Jack respects that aw well!

Leave a Reply

