I was thinking about the name of my blog here, “Switching Team, as in deciding to date somone of the same sex” and I began thinking. I didn’t just DECIDE to date someone of the same sex…..I just REALIZED that I wanted to date someone of the same sex. Making that statement that I decided to date a woman, makes it seem like a CHOICE. It wasn’t that I just decided to make the change….I made the choice to accept my feelings and realize that I preferred dating someone of the same sex.

Does all of that make sense? I hope so. I look back to my late teens and early twenties and realize that I have always liked being around other women. I preferred talking to them and having fun with them. I have even had some “girl crushes” that I just brushed off as someone who  I liked, but I was straight! I would marry a man, have children and live happily ever after. Well, at least that is what I thought. I did get married and the first few years were fine, but later I realized something was missing and I didn’t even know what it was.

It wasn’t until after I divorced and the thought of dating again came around, that I realized, that I really didn’t want to be with a man….but did I really want to be with a woman? I wasn’t sure and it took a while for me to make the big leap. Thankfully I went with my feelings and not with what society says it correct. I went to online dating sites and talked to several women and found Sylvia. OH I love her so much. I am so happy and my children are happier because I AM HAPPY. I finally know WHO I am and WHO I am supposed to be.

I think deep down, somewhere in my subconscious, I knew I liked women, but just couldn’t deal with it. I am just glad I finally decided to go with my true feelings and be who I am!

Leave a Reply

