Sylvia and I have been together for almost ten months now and she has lived here full-time for a little over two months. Prior to moving in, she pretty much lived here too! When New York state passed the bill that allowed gays and lesbians to marry, it opened up this conversation between us. We discussed how it would be nice if we could travel to New York and get married. Of course, it wouldn’t be recognized by the state we currently reside in.

This subject came up a few times and Sylvia mentioned that many of her friends had had committment ceremonies. We discussed this, but never in any great detail. It was just something that came up from time to time. Well, the other day I asked Sylvia if she would ever dance with me. We have attended two dances and she has never danced with me. She just doesn’t like to dance. I like to dance, but I am not very good at it. I just want to slow dance some and have that experience. She said no when I asked her if she would ever dance with me and then said, “well maybe at our wedding, we can dance one time.” I don’t remember exactly how she worded it, but that is the gist of it. I answered with, “Oh I hope so!” Well, this was the first time she had said wedding. I noticed it, but didn’t really comment on the wedding part of her response, just the dance part.

Later as we lay cuddling in bed, I asked her about the usage of the word wedding. She said, “well that is what it would be.” I answered with, “you have always said committment ceremony and then today you said wedding. I think that is sweet.” I then asked her WHEN she might want to get married, maybe next summer. Well, she wasn’t quite ready for that! Ha! She really likes to plan things so I guess we will have to talk about it some more and see what we come up with. I know we are committed to each other and plan on being together for the rest of our lives. Do we really need a wedding to prove that or a piece of paper? I don’t think so, however, why should we not celebrate our love and pledge ourselves to each other just because we are two women. Why can’t we have a huge party and invite all of our friends and family? I’ll keep y’all posted on any dance or wedding plans we have! Maybe I can at least get one dance!

Leave a Reply

