I believe I have stated this before, but since I have “switched teams” I feel more like I am being ME, the real me. I came out today to someone I respect a great deal. It was a co-worker who is also a friend. I felt this person needed to know and had wanted to tell this person for quite some time. This person asked me if I was happy and I said I was, because I finally felt I was being true to myself and being the true me.

I know this may be hard for others to understand. I never really realized how unhappy I was until I faced who I really was and decided to live my life and embrace who I was. I don’t think I was ignoring who I was, just not realizing who I was. If I was a teen now when homosexuality is a bit more accepted and out there in the media, maybe I would have come out at a younger age.

Leave a Reply

