Has my life really changed that much since coming out as a lesbian? Well yes and no! My first answer, would be yes it has changed. I have someone in my life who cares about me. I feel very comfortable with her and partly because she is a woman and partly because she is who she is.  I feel like I am with the person I am supposed to be with.  She is over every night and so it is like she lives here!

Because I am happy, I believe I am a better parent. I am more patient and able to make better decisions about my children so that has changed and for the better. Things will continue to change in that area. Sylvia has started taking a bit of a role on with the kids when she is here. This morning, she reminded my youngest to get dressed because I was in the back of the house. She gives good advice and she takes an interest in how they are doing. I hope this continues. Sylvia has yet to meet my parents and of course any future events with my family will be different because she will be at these family events, I hope! I plan on her slowly becoming more involved in that area, but at her pace! So YES, my life has changed.

Now, my work life has not changed much. I go to work everyday and do what I always do. I have not come out to anyone at work and don’t plan to at this point. I am still the same person I have always been, just happier. I didn’t just become another person since choosing to date a woman, but in some ways I have become another person.

I feel like I am still trying to find myself and who I really am, but that I am on the right path! Yes, my life has changed and for the better and no some things have not changed. It is a work in progress I think.

Leave a Reply

